Who is playing in the World Cup today? Full game schedule

The 2022 World Cup, held in Qatar, started on 20 November and 32 teams aim to reach the final on 18 December and become world champions.

The tournament is the first to be held in the Arab world and the second to be held in Asia after Japan and South Korea co-hosted the event in 2002. This tournament, together with the tournament, will be the last tournament where only 32 teams will take part. Expanding to include 48 countries from 2026.

The reigning champions France are among the favourites, but since Brazil in 1962, no team has successfully defended the World Cup, along with other teams in Europe, England, Spain and the Netherlands. Brazil and Argentina will likely be in the qualifying stages, while Senegal could represent Africa’s top winning hopes for the first time.

England face the USA and Iran in Group B with play-off winner Wales. Spain and Germany draw with Japan and Costa Rica in the tough Group E, while Portugal face Ghana, Uruguay and South Korea in the balanced Group H.

Hosts Qatar started their tournament against Ecuador before taking on Senegal and the Netherlands – the second duo would be the first match of the 2022 World Cup before organizers moved Qatar’s match a day ahead. Due to the extreme summer temperatures in the Gulf country, the Qatar World Cup will be staged first in winter instead of summer.

Check out all the World Cup fixtures and schedule below.

Who plays in the World Cup?

Group A: Qatar, Ecuador, Senegal, Netherlands.

Group B: England, Iran, USA, Wales.

Group C: Argentina, Saudi Arabia, Mexico, Poland.

Group D: France, Australia, Denmark, Tunisia.

Group E: Spain, Costa Rica, Germany, Japan.

Group F: Belgium, Canada, Morocco, Croatia.

Group G: Brazil, Serbia, Switzerland, Cameroon.

Group H: Portugal, Ghana, Uruguay, South Korea.

Important dates

Group stage: 20 November – 2 December

Last 16: 3-6 December

Quarterfinals: 9-10 December

semi-finals: 13-14 December

End: December 18

Who is playing today and which UK and US channels will broadcast the games?

South Korea vs Portugal

United Kingdom: 15:00 GMT – BBC One and BBC iPlayer

USA: 10:00 am ET, 7:00 am PT – Fox and Fox Sports 1

Ghana vs Uruguay

United Kingdom: 15:00 GMT – BBC Two and BBC iPlayer

USA: 10:00 am ET, 7:00 am PT – Fox and Fox Sports 1

Cameroon – Brazil

United Kingdom: 19:00 GMT – ITV1 and ITVX

USA: 14:00 ET, 11:00 PT – Fox and Fox Sports 1

Serbia – Switzerland

United Kingdom: 19:00 GMT – ITV4 and ITVX

USA: 14:00 ET, 11:00 PT – Fox and Fox Sports 1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *