Which teams remained, who were eliminated and their qualifying fixtures

This year’s World Cup qualifiers are the most diverse in the history of the competition, with three teams from Asia qualifying for the last 16 for the first time.

The first qualifying phase of the World Cup has traditionally been dominated by teams from Europe and South America, but this year there are a lot of representatives from North America, Asia and Africa.

Only the second time since the last 16 format was introduced in 1986, two African nations managed to beat the group and for the first time six teams from North America, Asia and Africa combined to reach the qualifying round. stages.

South America has only two reps (Argentina and Brazil) in the last 16 rounds in Qatar, their lowest totals since 1986.

And only twice before has Europe had less than eight of its current representatives in the round of 16.

European countries found it more difficult to progress when the tournament was held outside of their continents. At the 2010 World Cup in South Africa and the 2014 World Cup in Brazil, only six European teams reached the qualifying stage.

Asia’s numbers increased with Australia’s surprise advance from a group consisting of France, Denmark and Tunisia. Australia has been a member of the Asian Football Confederation since 2006.

In this year’s round of 16, Asian nations Japan and South Korea have joined them, both of which have risen dramatically from the group stages.

The quarter-finals squad so far consists of the Netherlands, Argentina, England and France.

What is the World Cup schedule for the qualifying phase?

Saturday, December 3

Match 49 – Netherlands 3 USA 1
Match 50 – Argentina 2 Australia 1

Sunday, December 4

Match 52 – France 3 Poland 1
Match 51 – England 3 Senegal 0

Monday, December 5

Match 53 – Japan 1 Croatia 1 (Croatia won 3-1 on penalties)
Match 54 – Brazil – South Korea, 19:00

Tuesday, December 6

Match 55 – Morocco – Spain, 15:00
Match 56 – Portugal – Switzerland, 19:00


Friday, December 9

QF1 – Croatia – Winning Match 54, 15:00
QF2 – Netherlands – Argentina, 19:00

Saturday, December 10

QF3 – Winning Match 55 – Winning Match 56, 3:00 PM
QF4 – England – France, 19:00


Tuesday, December 13

SF1 – QF1 Winner – QF2 Winner, 7:00 PM

Wednesday, December 14

SF2 – Winner QF3 – Winner QF4, 7:00 PM

Third place play-off

Saturday, December 17

SF1 Loser – SF2 Loser, 3:00 PM

Sunday, December 18

Lusail Stadium, 15:00

Who is leading the Golden Boot race?

At the end of the group stages, Marcus Rashford was among the highlights. For a guide to all the latest stats from the World Cup, check out our at-a-glance guide.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *