Snapchat may be the best photo sharing app in the world, but it’s also the most complex. While regular Snapchat users don’t find the app complicated to use, it’s a bit difficult for a new user to find all the features.
When you first install Snapchat on your Android or iOS device, the app doesn’t guide you how to use it. Yes, Snapchat has a forum where you can learn all its features and how to use it.
If you’ve just joined Snapchat and just started using it, you may see an ‘X’ icon next to the contact’s name in the Chat list. Have you ever wondered What does X mean on Snapchat??
Recently, many Snapchat users sent us a message asking what the X means in Snapchat. So if you can’t find what ‘X’ does on Snapchat, you’ll get all the much needed information in this article.
What does X mean on Snapchat?
The meaning of the X in Snapchat can vary. This is because you may see an ‘X’ in different parts of the Snapchat app.
Chat page, friend list etc. next to one you can see the gray ‘X’ icon. Therefore, depending on where the ‘X’ icon appears, its meaning may change.
For example, if someone has an X next to them on Snapchat’s Chat page, the person isn’t in your friends list yet.
Similarly, if an X icon appears next to a game or minigame, tapping on it removes it. You may even see a gray X next to the conversation to clear them.
What Does the Gray X Next to Snapchat Name Mean?
If an X appears next to a Snapchat name, The person has not been added to your friend list.. Generally, when you give Snapchat access to your contacts, all the people who joined Snapchat will be shown.
It’s possible for a person to appear on Snapchat even though they haven’t been added to your Snapchat friends list. Therefore, a contact may not be your Snapchat friend, but because the contact is in your notebook, it may show up in the app.
In Snapchat’s chat panel, you can see people added via your contact book but not actually added to your friends list. You will see a gray X next to their name on the chat page and x icon will let you make block or report the person.
You can add these contacts to remove the ‘X’ next to a Snapchat name. If you don’t want to add these people to your friend list, you can block them.
What Does the X in Snapchat’s Friend List Mean?
If an X appears next to the contact’s name on the ‘Add Friend’ screen, you haven’t added the contact yet. Tapping the X button will remove the contact suggestion from Snapchat.
However, besides the ‘X’ a ‘Add‘ button. Tapping the Add button will immediately send the person a friend request.
What does X mean instead of camera icon in Snapchat?
Well, if an ‘X’ appears next to someone you’ve been friends with, it means the person is a friend. recently removed or blocked you.
You can open the profile and check if you get the option to add the person to the friend list. If ‘Add‘ button is present, the person has removed you from their Snapchat account.
Generally, when someone removes you from their friend list, the camera icon is replaced by the ‘X’ icon. Tapping the X icon will allow you to clear, block or report the previous chat with the contact.
Also read: How to Take Screenshots on Snapchat Unknowingly
How to Remove Gray X Next to Name on Snapchat
The best and easiest way to get rid of the gray X on Snapchat is to add that person to your friends list. If the person refuses, you can block them.
If the person accepts your friend request, the ‘X’ icon will immediately change to Camera. However, if you see the ‘X’ icon next to the name on Snapchat and that person is already added to your friends list, you need to clear the App cache.
So, this guide is all about what X stands for in Snapchat. We’ve also answered your most asked question: Does X mean blocked on Snapchat? If you need more help with this, let us know in the comments below. Also, if the article helped you, be sure to share it with your friends.